God wants you well: a prayer for healing

Jesus the healer
Jesus the healer

Prayer for Healing (quoted)

From Healing the Sick by T.L. Osborn, Chapter 42, pages 235-238:

Once you have accepted Christ as Savior, you are a child of God and have the right to the fulfillment of any and all of God’s promises.  

      If you need healing, you may pray right now and be healed in the same way in which you have been saved. 

     Now that you realize where sickness came from and that it is not the will of your loving, heavenly Father that you suffer, it is time to approach Him in humility and in faith. 

     Jesus said, These signs shall follow them that believe, in my name they shall cast out devils; …they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover  (Mark 16:17-18). 

     Remember that He invites you:

 Call unto me, and I will answer you.                                     Jeremiah 33:3 Ask, and you shall receive, that your joy may be full.          John 16:24 

For every one that asks receives.                                                Matthew 7:8 

 The reason you can call on the Lord right now and be healed of your physical infirmities and diseases is that Jesus Christ Himself suffered all of them for you.  He did it willingly, as your substitute, so that you could be healed of them.

     He took upon Himself all the physical consequences of your sinful nature so that He could come into your life as your PHYSICAL HEALER and as your spiritual Savior. 

 So right now, pray this prayer: 

   HEAVENLY FATHER, I thank You that You have made known to me Your salvation and healing plan.  I thank You that Christ has redeemed me from sickness, being made sick for me, and that by His stripes I was healed. 

     I am so thankful that I no more need to bear my own sickness than I need to bear my sins, because You have revealed Christ to me. 

     Before I understood that sickness and disease, suffering and pain resulted from that first sin and rebellion of Adam and Eve, I presumed that there was no escape from the ever-present threat of physical disease in my life. 

     I knew that in spite of the wonders of modern medical science, our world is still full of sickness, suffering and crippling diseases. 

     I AM SO GLAD to know the truth; that Satan is to blame for my sickness, and that I have covenant rights and authority over all devils and diseases. 

     I marvel that You did not leave humanity in bondage to Satan.  After I had rebelled against You and violated Your laws of life, I deserved to die.  Oh, what love You manifested toward me in sending Your Son as the sacrifice for my sins.  (Rom. 3:24-25.) 

     Why did You love me so much?  There was nothing in my nature that merited Your favor.  Thank You for Your infinite love for me, when I was not worthy of Your love. 

     Sin had taken its awful toll in my life so that my physical body was totally vulnerable to every kind of disease and sickness conceived by the devil to torture me and to destroy my usefulness. 

     NOW I UNDERSTAND that Jesus not only suffered the full punishment for all my sins, but He also bore all the consequences of my sinful nature.

     Now I know that He, of a certainty, took upon Himself all of my diseases and suffered all my pains — my PHYSICAL diseases and pains — so that I could be completely healed. 

     His physical body was tortured.  He was beaten beyond recognition.  His visage was so marred more than any other man (Is. 52:14).  His back was striped.  When they beat Him, they plowed his back: they made long their furrows (Ps. 129:3).  He was bruised and torn. (Is. 53:5.)  Now I know that all my sicknesses were laid on Him.  He suffered them for me so that I could be free. 

     I understand that all sickness as well as sin has the same evil source — Satan, the deceiver.  I turn away from him with total resolution, and I welcome the presence and peace, life and health of my Lord into my life. 

     NOW, FATHER, I come according to Your word, knowing that You always make Your word good and fulfill Your promises.  You said:  I am the Lord that heals you. 

     Thank You for the fact that when I believe the good news of what Jesus did on my behalf, and when I receive Him into my heart, Satan has no more place in my life.  That is why You said: Behold,  I give you power over all the power of the enemy; and nothing shall by any means hurt you (Luke 10:19).  You gave me power and authority over all devils, and to cure diseases. (Luke 9:1.)  You promised that as a believer of the gospel, I can, in Your name, cast out devils; I can lay my hands on the sick and they shall recover. (Mark 16:18.) 

     I do now take You at Your word.  I rebuke the enemy which has caused my suffering.  I resist this oppression of the devil. (Acts 10:38.) 

     In the name of Jesus Christ, I command the sickness, which is a spirit of infirmity, to leave, and every symptom to be destroyed in the name of Jesus who is present now. 

     FATHER, I thank You that You have heard my prayer and have granted the answer. 

     You bore my sins and my diseases.  Now I am free of them.  When You suffered my sicknesses, by your stripes I was healed (Is. 53:5; 1 Peter 2:24). 

     The grace and life of Jesus Christ which now live in me, heal me of all sin disease.  I am saved.  I am healed.  I am free. 

     I now understand that Satan has lost all dominion over me.  Therefore, no sin can condemn me, and no sickness has the right to live in my body which has now become the temple of the Holy Spirit. 

     I claim the promise of healing for my body now, by faith in Your word; and I thank You that the very source of my sickness is destroyed and that, according to Jesus’ promise, I shall recover. 

     In Jesus Christ’s name, I have prayed. 

     OH, JESUS, YOU ARE LORD.  Your life is mine.  Your health is mine.  I saved and I am healed.  Every symptom of my old life, my old sins and mistakes, my old pains and sicknesses must now disappear, because the life and power of Christ are healing and making me whole NOW. 

     From today, I shall walk in Your new life and health, because You are my life, my all.  You are with me and in me NOW. 

     Thank You, Lord. AMEN. 

 * * * 

     Now you have prayed and rebuked the source of your trouble.  You accept, by faith in God’s word, that He has answered your prayer.  Now, hold fast the profession of (your) faith without wavering; for he is faithful that promised (Heb. 10:23). 

     Allow the devil to hear nothing spoken from your lips other than the confession of God’s word.  Allow yourself to think nothing contrary to what God has promised in His word. 

     Remember that your faith can never rise higher than your words.  The promises of God become real and living only as we confess them.  To enjoy the Christian life, you must learn the value of God’s word on your lips. 

     You cannot talk contrary to God’s word and win His blessings. 

     Your words are your standard of faith.  They express what you really believe.

     Anything other than You shall recover (Mark 16:18) is a lie from the devil.  Treat it as such and stand on God’s word, for God will make it good in you. 

     Do as Abraham did:  Be strong in faith by looking to the promise. 

     Keep the word before your eyes.  Look at the promises continually.

     Never consider symptoms that contradict the word as grounds for doubting the word of God because it is written:  I will watch over my word to perform it  (Jer. 1:12; Ezek. 12:25,28; Is. 38:7; Rom. 4:21).

________________________

The above is an excerpt from the book by T.L. Osborn entitled, Healing the Sick

Leave a comment

