How to deal with your broken heart and rise above your hurt? (Preface)

how to deal with your broken heart 2

PREFACE: WHY I WROTE THIS BOOK (excerpts/summary from book by Pastor Susan Tang))

Actually I wrote this book for a number of reasons. The number one reason is that I am weary. I am weary from being confronted by so many broken-hearted people and weary with having to repeat the same counsel time and time again. “Hurts are sometimes almost tangible and definitely contagious.”

A few years ago after I started a women’s ministry in my church, I was suddenly plunged into a world of hurting women. Some were hurting and helpless, some were hurting and revengeful, some were hurting and demonic, some were hurting and confused, and some were hurting and had become both impenetrable and weird!

How is it that the world is so full of hurting women? And hurting men? Although we had advertised in the local papers that the HELPLINE was only for women, men called up, and one shouted at me when I told him that the HELPLINE was for women only.

What the ***! Don’t you know we men hurt too? …How come you help women and not men?” I had no answer, so I had to replace the receiver and unhook the phone for a while…

Since the women ministry started here in…years ago, I have been writing articles and giving talks on this subject on how to rise above our hurts and heart-brokenness. Letters have come and women have asked for more… I enjoyed doing this at first but after …years, I decided that I should stop. Then somebody said, “You have stopped teaching, but people have not stopped hurting.”

This is so true. So why not bring all the articles together and rewrite them? This is how this book came about and this is why I wrote this book.

When God brings us through experiences like hurts, He definitely has a purpose. He wants us to grow up spiritually…I am also grateful to people, for it is from people, hurting people, that I have learned the most.

The one lesson that looms above the rest is this: There is to be only one great, lifelong, consuming love affair for a child of God and it is to be with the Lord Jesus Christ Himself. God Himself wants to be our first love object.”

Each time a hurting person comes to me for counseling and prayer, the Holy Spirit will urge me to tell her, “Listen, just open your heart to Jesus and love Him and have Him love you back.” Or I would say, “No, right now your need is not to be reconciled with Michael or jean or whoever. Your need right now is to love Jesus with all of your heart and have Him love you in return.”

And over and over again, I have seen the miracle happen:

THAT WHEN PEOPLE DARE TO MAKE GOD THEIR FIRST LOVE, SITUATIONS AND CIRCUMSTANCES CHANGE FOR THEM OR THEY THEMSELVES CHANGE AND THIS IS SO MUCH BETTER!

Praise God!

Yes, God does want to be our first love. We see this in the first book of the Bible, Genesis, where God tested the heart of Abraham by asking him to sacrifice his only son !…One can see plainly that God was not after Abraham’s son, BUT HE WAS AFTER ABRAHAM’S HEART.

To all who are reading this book, my prayer for you is that you will find healing and emotional wholeness from the God Who Himself has drawn you to Him. I am praying for you. You will find healing for that broken heart as surely as Jesus rose from the grave. The grave had no power to bind Jesus Christ and just like the grave, hurts have no power to bind you or hold you because you are a child of God…

(to be continued)

You may order the book from this address:
STATION OF LIFE, TEL : +60 89 – 885 013 FAX : +60 89 – 887 217
EMAIL: admin@station-of-life.org
WEB SITE : http://www.station-of-life.org/

Leave a comment

