How to deal with your broken heart (step 5): believe that you can be healed!

Here are more excerpts from the above healing book for the emotionally hurting. I am led in my spirit to publish step 5 (excerpts only) this round. I pray you too will find the gems here encourage you to get hold of the whole book and read many times. Believe that you can be healed!

___________Excerpts: (my own remarks or summary are in brackets)

We find it easier and more natural to believe in the dark side of things and in the negative side of life than in the bright and positive side of things.

I know that when I can get people to believe in the positive, more than half the battle is won.

THOSE WHO ARE HURTING MUST BELIEVE THAT THEY CAN COME OUT OF IT AND THAT THEY CAN RISE ABOVE THOSE HURTS. If you think otherwise, you are fighting a losing battle and you will not find emotional wholeness.

The story of the epileptic boy in Matthew 17 is a very touching one. The Lord Jesus Christ raised a challenging and heart-searching question (in reply to the father who sought healing for his son from Jesus) in His reply, saying, “If thou can believe!” Immediately the man dropped on his knees and cried out, “I believe! Help Thou my unbelief!”

What the man was saying in actual fact, I believe, was this, “O Lord, I do believe but my human believing is so week, it seems to still contain an element of unbelief, Therefor my believing and my faith need Your divine support.”

This, then, is the condition of all our hearts. Doubts even in the midst of our faith!

It was during my years of church planting and pioneering that I personally came to understand the meaning of this verse and the condition of my own heart…I was like a fountain that was spurting out both hot and cold water at the same time. I had faith to sever from the “established past”, so to speak, and yet has no faith to move wholeheartedly into the future.

Ask God to help you believe…

We must take the Word of the Lord literally…

If you find yourself in this (belief-unbelief) situation while seeking for emotional healing, just say, “Lord, I will not be discouraged and I thank You for healing me. Help me to go through this period of feeling so ‘unhealed’.”

It is the fact that we must confess and think about, not the feelings. The fact is that God has promised to heal us and we have been healed by His (Jesus’) stripes. We must then apply this healing to ourselves.

I remember helping another sister through a very difficult time. She had woken me up at about three in the morning. with tear-filled eyes, she told me that she could not sleep after reading from the newspaper that evening that her former boyfriend was going to marry another woman, an air hostess. This was so strange because they had split up about four years ago and she had, through all these years, continued to live a vibrant and active life.

“But when I read that announcement…all those hurt feelings came back…My mind keeps remembering those old times…”

This is true. When our minds bring back the memories, they also bring back the feelings, whether good or bad.

In my own experience…I immediately reach out to God and pray, “I claim the blood of Jesus Christ over all of these hurting memories and I rebuke these mental and emotional oppressions in the name of Jesus.” God in His mercy and love has not failed failed me once.

Very often, Satan…will draw my attention to familiar sights and similar looking people and remind me, “Doesn’t this man look like him? Look, he is smiling at you in the same way that ______ used to smile at you!” “This is the same type of perfume and chocolate he used to buy you” or “This was the coffee house you both came to so many years ago.”

And I have, unashamedly, run and turned to Him (God) at all odd times and in odd places. In toilets, in the supermarkets, in the kitchen while stirring a cup of coffee, in an airplane, in the hair saloon with my head under a blower, under the shower, in the midst of a facial etc. Anytime, anywhere, whenever the hurtful memories strike, I just reach out to Him, Who alone is my healing balm…

(Back to the story about the hurting woman)..I told her that the Lord has definitely healed her of that past hurt and that those lousy feelings would not stay if she was determined not to let them stay.

“Rebuke them and do not let Satan bring back the past memories and ugly hurt feelings to rob you of the reality of God’s healing. You don’t have to let these mental and emotional oppressions stay.”

I told her to begin to concentrate on the facts – this man was not in God’s plan for her life -to be able to accept this helps in the healing of hurts. Also, four years ago, she had already with God that she would release him ans God had already healed her of that emotional hurt and trauma.

Praise God, my friend cooperated and she allowed the facts, not her feelings, to take hold of her that night. The next morning she was as good as new.

The apostel Paul told the church of Philippi that they must by God’s power, discipline their minds to think of the things that positive. This means our minds can actually be trained to dwell on things we want them to.

Yes, God is more than able to heal your broken-heartedness…Believe because this is the truth: Jesus Christ is more than able to heal you and help you rise above those hurts in life. (to be continued)

how to deal with your broken heart
how to deal with your broken heart

You may order the whole printed book from this address: STATION OF LIFE, TEL : +60 89 – 885 013 FAX : +60 89 – 887 217
EMAIL: admin@station-of-life.org
WEB SITE : http://www.station-of-life.org/

Leave a comment

