Who is Jesus? healing and miracles (Luke 1-7)

To believe in Jesus heals, we must know who Jesus is. Who is Jesus? What did He do while on earth? Today we read and meditate some Bible verses from Luke chapter 1-7, focusing more on the healing and miracles He did, as an introduction to new comers and as a revision to those who are believers. We see that Jesus was born of the Holy Spirit, the Son of God, the Messiah, and has all authority over giving life, forgiving sins, healing all diseases, casting out all demons. He commanded even things like fever (symptoms), spiritual beings (spirits that caused sicknesses and infirmities), natural phenomena (fishes swimming to the net which had been empty whole night), life returning to the dead boy (son of a widow at a funeral). He is willing to heal all. He is not bound by distance, space and time. He is not bound by human religious traditional belief and practices. He is Lord overall.

Where is Jesus today? Seated at the place of honor at the right hand of God. (Luke 22:69; Ephesians 1:20) He lives forever to intercede with God, saving those who come to God through Him. (Hebrews 7:25)

~~~~~~~~~~~Bible verses from Luke

Luke 1 The prophecy of Jesus’ birth to Mary

31 You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you will name him Jesus. 32 He will be very great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his ancestor David.

35 The angel replied, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the baby to be born will be holy, and he will be called the Son of God.

69 He has sent us a mighty Savior[a]
    from the royal line of his servant David,

Luke 3 16 John answered their questions by saying, “I baptize you with[a] water; but someone is coming soon who is greater than I am—so much greater that I’m not even worthy to be his slave and untie the straps of his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and with fire.[b]

Luke 4:18-21, 43  New Living Translation (NLT)

18 “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
    for he has anointed me to bring Good News to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim that captives will be released,
    that the blind will see,
that the oppressed will be set free,
19     and that the time of the Lord’s favor has come.[a]

20 He rolled up the scroll, handed it back to the attendant, and sat down. All eyes in the synagogue looked at him intently. 21 Then he began to speak to them. “The Scripture you’ve just heard has been fulfilled this very day!”

43 But he replied, “I must preach the Good News of the Kingdom of God in other towns, too, because that is why I was sent.”

Luke 4:39-41

39 Standing at her bedside, he rebuked the fever, and it left her. And she got up at once and prepared a meal for them.

40 As the sun went down that evening, people throughout the village brought sick family members to Jesus. No matter what their diseases were, the touch of his hand healed every one. 41 Many were possessed by demons; and the demons came out at his command, shouting, “You are the Son of God!” But because they knew he was the Messiah, he rebuked them and refused to let them speak.

Luke 5:4-6 When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Now go out where it is deeper, and let down your nets to catch some fish.”

“Master,” Simon replied, “we worked hard all last night and didn’t catch a thing. But if you say so, I’ll let the nets down again.” 6 And this time their nets were so full of fish they began to tear!

Luke 5:12-13 Jesus Heals a Man with Leprosy

12 In one of the villages, Jesus met a man with an advanced case of leprosy. When the man saw Jesus, he bowed with his face to the ground, begging to be healed. “Lord,” he said, “if you are willing, you can heal me and make me clean.”

13 Jesus reached out and touched him. “I am willing,” he said. “Be healed!” And instantly the leprosy disappeared.

Luke 5:18,20,24 18 Some men came carrying a paralyzed man on a sleeping mat. They tried to take him inside to Jesus,

20 Seeing their faith, Jesus said to the man, “Young man, your sins are forgiven.”

24 So I will prove to you that the Son of Man[a] has the authority on earth to forgive sins.” Then Jesus turned to the paralyzed man and said, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and go home!”

Luke 6:5,10,17-18 And Jesus added, The Son of Man[a] is Lord, even over the Sabbath.”

10 He looked around at them one by one and then said to the man, “Hold out your hand.” So the man held out his hand, and it was restored!

Crowds Follow Jesus

17 When they came down from the mountain, the disciples stood with Jesus on a large, level area, surrounded by many of his followers and by the crowds. There were people from all over Judea and from Jerusalem and from as far north as the seacoasts of Tyre and Sidon.

18 They had come to hear him and to be healed of their diseases; and those troubled by evil[a] spirits were healed. 19 Everyone tried to touch him, because healing power went out from him, and he healed everyone.

Luke 7:7,9-19 I am not even worthy to come and meet you. Just say the word from where you are, and my servant will be healed. 

When Jesus heard this, he was amazed. Turning to the crowd that was following him, he said, “I tell you, I haven’t seen faith like this in all Israel!” 10 And when the officer’s friends returned to his house, they found the slave completely healed.

Luke 7:12-15 12 A funeral procession was coming out as he approached the village gate. The young man who had died was a widow’s only son, and a large crowd from the village was with her. 13 When the Lord saw her, his heart overflowed with compassion. “Don’t cry!” he said. 14 Then he walked over to the coffin and touched it, and the bearers stopped. “Young man,” he said, “I tell you, get up.” 15 Then the dead boy sat up and began to talk! And Jesus gave him back to his mother. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Jesus today

But from now on the Son of Man will be seated in the place of power at God’s right hand.”

that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms.

Hebrews 7:25 [Full Chapter]

Therefore he is able, once and forever, to save those who come to God through him. He lives forever to intercede with God on their behalf.
Jesus healing power
6 thoughts on “Who is Jesus? healing and miracles (Luke 1-7)

    1. In addition to reading and believing the Bible and learning from teachings from teachers of faith, I do it by reading and listening to the testimonies of the healed. Right now I am reading Andrew Wommack’s God wants you well.

      Like

      1. Thank you – I don’t know your name- for reply
        I do that also but I am now 7 years fighting pain that no doctor can diagnose 😦
        I worship Savior, prophess the scriptures, believe, cry…

        Like

      2. I am reading Andrew Wommack’s God wants you well book again. Please get this book on his website and read. You can also download his audio teachings free from the site. I admit it’s not easy as I tended to use my mind and ignore the reality of the Holy Spirit. Jesus told us the words of God is life and spirit. I have found that when I was desperate enough I really held fast to His promises. Like now. God bless you. Hold fast!

        Like

      3. I don’t know what I don’t have from Brother Andrew….I listen over and over to the cd’s, red book :((((
        help me Lord I pray…grant me wisdom how to receive your free gift of healing…..

        Like

      4. I used to struggle with pain. After receiving healing I now understand how to overcome my adversity. But I don’t have answer to every kind of pain. The faith teachings from others help me to focus on God who is Spirit. Jesus is Spirit. Holy Spirit is Spirit. Spiritual realm is real. Our answers are in the spirit. There are many good teachings on this. I was asked by a friend to read the book I recommended to you just now at about the same time I received your comment. She did not know of your comment. So I believe we both need to read again. Bless you.

        Like

Leave a comment

