overcoming pain: a healed testimony (12-9-14)

Over the years I have crossed the threshold from studying pain management in the physical and mental realms to overcoming pain in the spiritual realm. I started by doing a post graduate degree course in community health administration and wellness promotion, which included health psychology amongst other relevant subjects. I was motivated to do the study because healthcare is indeed the number one global issue. My first research paper was pain management. I researched on what causes pain and how it has been managed by various ways: medical-pharmaceutical, psychological (including physical-behavioral-cognitive-emotive methods), physical exercises and nutritional therapy. I studied the brain and neural pathway of pain signals and gateway of pain communication and how the various pain control methods work on such pathways. Some of the methods that interested me include: diversions, distractions, blocking etc. I practiced on such short-term solutions myself, for example, at the dentist.

I was not satisfied with my study and finding. I concluded that none of the methods really guarantee a permanent healed solution. The above methods require considerable human efforts and they are cumbersome and difficult to apply in our simple ordinary living especially for those without the modern costly rising medical (and related) and educational amenities. In my study I came across scientific research papers on the healing effect of Christian prayers. It opened up a window to another dimension, the reality of the spiritual realm. Over the years, I have continued this pathway and I have found that this is the most reliable pathway for me to manage and overcome pain. Significant breakthrough came when I encountered the reality and power of the Holy Spirit, followed by learning how to use God’s words and promises in the Bible, the authority of the name of Jesus and the positioning of myself as a child of God, based on the words of God.

I have no formula for anyone. I can only witness that God is real. Jesus is real. The Holy Spirit is real. The Bible is God’s words. God does not speak in vain. He makes sure that every word He speaks accomplishes the purpose for which His words are sent. He sends His words and heals.

Psalm 107:20 :He sent out His word and healed them, snatching them from the door of death.”

John 1:1 “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” 14 “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.” (testified of Jesus, the Word)

John 6:63 “The Spirit alone gives eternal life. Human effort accomplishes nothing. And the very words I have spoken to you are spirit and life.” (spoken by Jesus)

Isaiah 53:4 Amplified Bible (AMP)

Surely He has borne our griefs (sicknesses, weaknesses, and distresses) and carried our sorrows and pains [of punishment], yet we [ignorantly] considered Him stricken, smitten, and afflicted by God [as if with leprosy].

Isaiah 55:11 Amplified Bible (AMP)

11 So shall My word be that goes forth out of My mouth: it shall not return to Me void [without producing any effect, useless], but it shall accomplish that which I please and purpose, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.

Jesus carried my pains

Leave a comment

