Jesus speaks of Himself

By now, after over two thousands years, the name of Jesus is known to many. Today we read some Bible verses from the book of Luke, to see what Jesus speaks of Himself when He was on earth. Jesus said, knowing God, and Jesus (the One He sent) is eternal life. Know Jesus. Know Him as your personal Savior, Lord, Friend.

The verses are quoted at random, as led in my spirit. All verses are quoted from the New Living Translation (NLT):

Luke 9:48 

48 Then he said to them, “Anyone who welcomes a little child like this on my behalf[a]welcomes me, and anyone who welcomes me also welcomes my Father who sent me. Whoever is the least among you is the greatest.”

Luke 9:26 

26 If anyone is ashamed of me and my message, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in his glory and in the glory of the Father and the holy angels.

Luke 9:20 New Living Translation (NLT)

20 Then he asked them, “But who do you say I am?”

Peter replied, “You are the Messiah[a] sent from God!”

Luke 8:45-46 

45 “Who touched me?” Jesus asked.

Everyone denied it, and Peter said, “Master, this whole crowd is pressing up against you.”

46 But Jesus said, “Someone deliberately touched me, for I felt healing power go out from me.”

Luke 8:18 

18 “So pay attention to how you hear. To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given. But for those who are not listening, even what they think they understand will be taken away from them.”

Luke 5:31-32 

31 Jesus answered them, “Healthy people don’t need a doctor—sick people do. 32 I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners and need to repent.”

Luke 5:24-25 

24 So I will prove to you that the Son of Man[a] has the authority on earth to forgive sins.” Then Jesus turned to the paralyzed man and said, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and go home!”

25 And immediately, as everyone watched, the man jumped up, picked up his mat, and went home praising God.

Footnotes:

  1. 5:24 “Son of Man” is a title Jesus used for himself.

Luke 4:17-21

17 The scroll of Isaiah the prophet was handed to him. He unrolled the scroll and found the place where this was written:

18 “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
    for he has anointed me to bring Good News to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim that captives will be released,
    that the blind will see,
that the oppressed will be set free,
19     and that the time of the Lord’s favor has come.[a]

20 He rolled up the scroll, handed it back to the attendant, and sat down. All eyes in the synagogue looked at him intently. 21 Then he began to speak to them. “The Scripture you’ve just heard has been fulfilled this very day!”

Footnotes:

  1. 4:18-19 Or and to proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord. Isa 61:1-2 (Greek version); 58:6.

Luke 2:49

49 “But why did you need to search?” he asked. “Didn’t you know that I must be in my Father’s house?”[a]

Footnotes:

  1. 2:49 Or “Didn’t you realize that I should be involved with my Father’s affairs?”

Luke 21:26-28

26 People will be terrified at what they see coming upon the earth, for the powers in the heavens will be shaken. 27 Then everyone will see the Son of Man[a] coming on a cloud with power and great glory.[b] 28 So when all these things begin to happen, stand and look up, for your salvation is near!”

Footnotes:

  1. 21:27a “Son of Man” is a title Jesus used for himself.
  2. 21:27b See Dan 7:13.

Luke 22:67-71

67 and they said, “Tell us, are you the Messiah?”

But he replied, “If I tell you, you won’t believe me. 68 And if I ask you a question, you won’t answer. 69 But from now on the Son of Man will be seated in the place of power at God’s right hand.[a]

70 They all shouted, “So, are you claiming to be the Son of God?”

And he replied, “You say that I am.”

Leave a comment

