Jesus speaks of Himself continues

flowers for Jesus

Today we read some familiar verses from the book of Matthew in the way Jesus has read them and spoken them: Jesus is God. He is the Word. Jesus is the Son of God. He is the King. Where He is there the Kingdom of Heaven is. Jesus has the final say on who will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Jesus has the authority to forgive sins. When Jesus sends you (His disciple) out you don’t worry as He will ensure His Spirit fills and guides you even in the toughest situation! Jesus has given a blanket covering for everyone who represents Him: the same privilege as Jesus (and God). Jesus can choose to whom He wants to reveal God. But the Good News is: He invites all to come to Him, especially if you are weary and carry heavy burdens of life. He has the last words.

“Come to Me, and I will give you rest.” This is an open invitation to all who want to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. No time limit until Jesus returns.

12:13 “So you, too, much keep watch! For you do not know the day or hour of My return.” No one knows when Jesus will return.

Last words: Matthew 28:18-20 After the resurrection of Jesus 

18 Jesus came and told his disciples, I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations,[a] baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Footnotes:

  1. 28:19 Or all peoples.

Matthew 4

But Jesus told him, “No! The Scriptures say,

‘People do not live by bread alone,
    but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’[a]

Footnotes:

  1. 4:4 Deut 8:3.

Jesus responded, “The Scriptures also say, ‘You must not test the Lord your God.’[a]

Footnotes:

  1. 4:7 Deut 6:16.

10 “Get out of here, Satan,” Jesus told him. “For the Scriptures say,

‘You must worship the Lord your God
    and serve only him.’[a]

Footnotes:

  1. 4:10 Deut 6:13.

17 from then on Jesus began to preach. “Repent of your sins and turn to God, for the Kingdom of Heaven is near.”

Matthew 7:21-23

21 “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter. 22 On judgment day many will say to me, ‘Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed many miracles in your name.’ 23 But I will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’

Matthew 9:1-2 Jesus Heals a Paralyzed Man

Jesus climbed into a boat and went back across the lake to his own town. Some people brought to him a paralyzed man on a mat. Seeing their faith, Jesus said to the paralyzed man, “Be encouraged, my child! Your sins are forgiven.”

Matthew 10:16-20; 40

16 “Look, I am sending you out as sheep among wolves. So be as shrewd as snakes and harmless as doves. 17 But beware! For you will be handed over to the courts and will be flogged with whips in the synagogues. ..19 When you are arrested, don’t worry about how to respond or what to say. God will give you the right words at the right time. 20 For it is not you who will be speaking—it will be the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.

40 “Anyone who receives you receives me, and anyone who receives me receives the Father who sent me.

Matthew 11:27-30

27 My Father has entrusted everything to me. No one truly knows the Son except the Father, and no one truly knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.”

28 Then Jesus said, Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” 

Leave a comment

